Security Commands in Linux

A short overview on commands you can use to keep your machine secure

ยท

2 min read

Heyo everyone! Today I'm doing an overview on a few security commands! If you prefer threads, I already did a thread on this a while back, check out Twitter

Because I have been busy with school, I've not really had time to create any new articles so I will be doing a lot of review and article creating on my old threads. ๐Ÿ˜†

1.ss ๐Ÿ“

You may know ss to be more of a 'networking' command, but the command can also be used for security purposes.

Some examples:

ss = lists all connections

ss -a = lists listening and non listening ports

ss -t = lists tcp connections

2.who ๐Ÿ‘€

the 'who' commands lists everyone who is logged in.

This may not apply to you, but since Linux is multi-user, this command can be used to find who is logged in.

who.png

3.last ๐Ÿ’ป

The 'last' command showed you who logged in last and some activity. last.png

4.passwd

This is a very basic command, all it does it change the password, but of course changing your password from time to time can help with the security of your machine.

You use 'passwd' to change the password of a user if needed.

passwd.png

5.ufw

'ufw' stands for uncomplicated firewall, this is used to manage firewall rules.

Some distros that use this command are Arch and Ubuntu.

Thank you for reading my article today!๐Ÿฅณ I'll be doing my best to get back to posting as I used to, I'm hoping to get actual new content out there. But, if you're interested in keeping up, follow me on twitter that is where I will be most active. Thank you again ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

ย